Good Communication...
Good Government

  • Search

    • The Web NAGC

    E-mail NAGC HQ

  • Share Job Listings

    • Do you have a government communications vacancy? Reach hundreds of qualified candidates with a free listing on our Web site. E-mail a short overview, closing date, and contact information to the NAGC Webmaster.


Welcome to the National Association of Government Communicators Website


"Our Work Here Is Done!!"

NAGC wraps up a very successful
2014 Communications School in Washington, DC.


Links to Information from 2014 NAGC Communications School
"Harnessing the Power to Inform and Engage Citizens"

Program | Exhibitors | SponsorsPresentations (members-only area)
Visit the 2014 NAGC Communications School Photo Gallery

NAGC Announces 2014 Blue Pencil
& Gold Screen Award Winners

press release | awards program with list of winners

Visit the 2014 NAGC Awards Presentation Photo Gallery


NAGC Elects New Officers

press release


The National Association of Government Communicators installed new officers during its annual business meeting held Friday in conjunction with the 2014 NAGC Communications School, at the FHI 360 Conference Center, Washington, D.C.


Assuming the role of president is John S. Verrico, who has more than 32 years of experience in media, public and internal communications for federal, state and military organizations. John, who currently serves as chief of media relations, Science & Technology Directorate, Department of Homeland Security, was elected president-elect in 2012.


Also sworn in were the following officers who were named in the most recent election:

  • President-Elect Kathryn Stokes. She will assume the role of president in 2016 following John Verrico’s tenure. Stokes is strategic affairs officer/acting director of communications, Mississippi Department of Employment Security.
  • Competitions Director Cheryl Chambers. She is chief of communication management and support, U.S. Census Bureau.
  • Professional Development Director Maria Vanderkolk. She is communications manager for the City of Arvada, Colorado.
  • Membership & Volunteer Director Marisa Ellison. She is the customer relations manager for the Missouri Department of Transportation, Northeast District-Hannibal.


All newly installed Board members will serve a term of two years.


Continuing on the Board of Directors are:

  • Immediate Past President Glen Thomas, senior manager, strategic communications and community outreach/public information officer, Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority.
  • Communications Director Christopher Thomas O’Neil, deputy assistant commissioner, Office of Public Affairs, U.S. Customs and Border Protection.
  • Marketing Director Wendy Wagner-Smith, senior writer-editor, Office of Financial Research, U.S. Department of the Treasury.
  • Education Director Sheryl Walsh, director of communications, City of Novi, Michigan.

The position of Treasurer was vacated when Stokes was elected president-elect. The Board of Directors appointed Derrick G. Silas, director of electronic communications for the City of Enid, Oklahoma, to fill this position.